top of page

Where did 2 weeks go?

How long do you have to stay somewhere to consider it 'living' somewhere. I pondered this question today as I near the end of week 3 in Barcelona.


2 weeks have came and gone, but I've experienced so much in this short amount of time.


I've continued to meet other students of all ages and from different countries & backgrounds.


Things I didn't know were American:

*Ranch dressing

*So many varieties of soda--- they are content with Cola & Fanta. No Dr Pepper in these streets!


It's the little things that have made this trip unique, memorable, and worthwhile:

*I was able to celebrate the birthday of my host family with a homemade cake. Look at it, it's beautiful right?!


*I have used public transportation, bus and train, the entire time. $40 years for an entire month. & a whole lotta walkin'!

*I've prayed in the most beautiful churches I have ever seen.



*The beaches are warm given the hot temp here.

*The architecture is unbelievable.




You can't love everything about everywhere. Here's a few things that I miss about Colorado... home :):

*Clean drinking water

*The air is just better -- though I know the smoke is bad right now.

*The weather--- it's too hot for me here!


My Spanish is coming along. I think I would need about 2 more months to become fluent, but this was a great start to refresh my memory from my high school education and expand my vocabulary. I will find a way to continue learning from home.


Though I do not necessarily want to go back to work, I am extremely thankful that my job has given me this opportunity. Not many people can take a month off, and for this, I am grateful. There's two types of people out there. Some people find what they love to do and are lucky enough to make it their job. Others, work doing something they like, to do the things they love. I'm the latter. However, I don't know what job I would love. I love learning, growing, meeting new people, experiencing new things, and helping people. My job checks most of those boxes in its own way, so I will keep doing the job I like, so I can keep doing the things I love.


Jordan arrived to experience this trip with me. It means a lot to me considering travel is definitely more my thing. We have shared many memories already, and think I might have finally got him addicted to travel :).


I miss my sweet little dog Emmylou, but wherever she is, she's spoiled. My parents and sister are giving her all the cuddles.


Talk soon & don't forget to follow me on Instagram @onceuponaplaneticket for more pictures!


One and a half weeks to go!


Lerea



11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page